Jad Adrian wins 100m race in MASUM

>> February 27, 2010

The country's fastest men were the main highlights of the first day of this year's national university meet (MASUM) at Serdang, yesterday (26th February).

Malaysian Games champion Zabidi Ghazali (UM) whose personal best in the 100m is 10.57, and UPM's Latif Nyat (PB 10.45), the 2006 SUKMA champion and 2009 SEA Games representative were in actions.

In a close race however, it was UPM's Jad Adrian who emerged as the winner ahead of the duo national sprinters to defend his gold medal from the last edition.

In a cold final late-night race, he stopped the clock at 10.94  into a slight breeze (-0.5), right ahead of Zabidi and Latif Nyat. Both were clocked at 10.96 and 10.99 for silver and bronze, respectively.

"I only back into training about two months ago after a suffering hamstring injury, this is a good start for me."

"The race was very late (11pm) and the condition was a bit cold, but after all, I did not even taper for this", Jad said.

During the final race, Latif, the known fast starter came out off the block, exploding like a bullet to have a near two-meter gap straightaway. He led for 70 meters until the 24-year-old Jad Adrian shifted his faster gear and closed the gaps.

Jad, who had a smooth clearance and acceleration was left behind from the beginning as a result of the poor reaction, but his powerful swings kept him not far away from Latif.

He trailed Latif for an entire three-quarter of the race and only seen in front in the last 15-m.

Zabidi came "very late" but managed to catch Latif at the end.

Earlier, Jad Adrian clocked 10.89 to win a heat race against Zabidi who led him for 70m. Latif won another heat in 10.92.

UPSI’s top sprinter Izuddin Yahya was 4th in the finals with a time of 11.08s.

UIAM's Norhafiz was 5th in 11.28 while UiTM's M.Saufee placed 6th in 11.38.

A former national sprinter, Syarafie Sauli of UPSI injured and went to seventh in 11.41s while UNIMAP's Mohd. Isa clocked 11.46s for the eighth position.

Facebook comments here



100m 9.91 Su Bingtian CHN, Madrid
200m 20.16 Xie Zhenye CHN, Osaka
400m 44.07 Abdalelah Haroun QAT, London
800m 1:45.65 Jinson Johnson IND, Guwahati
1500m 3:34.55 Sadik Mikhou BRN, Paris
5000m 13:01.09 Birhanu Yemataw BRN, Lausanne
10000m 27:38.16 Hassan Chani BRN, Maia
Mar 2:06.11 Yuta Shitara JPN, Tokyo
3000 Sc 8:22.00 Kosei Yamaguchi JPN, Abashiri
110mh 13.36 Ahmad Al-Mouaed KSA, Praha
400mh 46.98 Abderrahman Samba QAT, Paris
HJ 2.40 Mutaz Barshim QAT, Doha
PV 5.71 Xue Changrui CHN, Shanghai
LJ 8.47A Wang Jianan CHN, Guiyang
TJ 17.22 Dong Bin CHN, Eugene OR
SP 20.24 Tejinder Singh IND, Patiala
DT 68.85 Ehsan Hadidi IRI, Chula Vista CA
HT 78.18 Dilshod Nazarov TJK, Chorzow
JT 87.43 Neeraj Chopra IND, Doha
Dec 7948 Keisuke Ushiro JPN, Gotzis
20kmW 1:17:26 Eiki Takahashi JPN, Kobe
50kmW 3:44:25 Hiroki Arai JPN, Taichang
4x100m 37.85 Japan Team JPN, Osaka
4x400m 3:04.05 India Team IND, Gold Coast
RED = World Leader




100m 10.99 Wei Yongli CHN, Resisprint
200m 22.73 Viktoriya Zyabkina KAZ, Almaty
400m 49.08 Salwa Eid Naser BRN, Monaco
800m 2:02.23 Manal Bahraoui BRN, Duffel
1500m 4:11.55 P.U Chitra IND, Guwahati
5000m 15:10.91 Rina Nabeshima JPN, Eugene OR
10000m 31:52.42 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Yamaguchi
Mar 2:22.44 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Osaka
3000 Sc 9:10.74 Winfred Yavi BRN, Monaco
100mh 13.08 Wu Shuijiao CHN, Shanghai
400mh 55.54 Aminat Odeyemi BRN, Goleniow
HJ 1.91 Nadzehda Dusanova UZB, Tashkent
PV 4.60 Li Ling CHN, London
LJ 6.64A Xu Xiaoling CHN, Guiyang
TJ 14.25 Olga Rypakova KAZ, Paris
SP 20.38A Gong Lijiao CHN, Guiyang
DT 67.03 Chen Yang CHN, Osterode
HT 75.02 Luo Na CHN, Halle
JT 67.69 Lu Huihui CHN, Halle
Hep 5898 Purnima Hembram IND, Guwahati
20kmW 1:26:28 Qieyang Shenjie CHN, La Coruna



Copyright © 2009-2018, AdrianSprints.com . All Rights Reserved . Policy . Term of Use
Sports Top Blogs Sports blogs & blog posts Free Web Stats

Back to TOP