Maurice Greene 100m Race Strategy, the John Smith Seven Phases

>> October 19, 2010

In order to execute the 100m race more efficient and effectively, coaches and athletes have devised a systematic race strategy that is suited to athlete ability. It’s why we’ve seen the 100m race approach are different from one coach or athlete to another.

John Smith, a renowned athletics coach introduced a unique race strategy to the three-time world champion in the 100m, Maurice Greene and the HSI members approximately 15 years ago.

John Smith's 100m race approach was created to allow a sprinter to  delay the acceleration in order to reach the top speed not before the 60 metres but at 65 to 70 metres.

To apply the strategy, John Smith breaks the 100m into seven phases:

How fast the sprinter response to the gun.
Goal is to react as quickly as possible; a good reaction time is below 0.130, the perfect reaction is held by Jon Drummond in 0.100. Range of 0.130 to 0.160 are acceptable in the 100m. Reaction time of 0.170 is too late!

2) CLEARANCE (First step)
First step must be correct and explosive. First step is crucial to make sure a clean
execution in the drive phase.

3) DRIVE (up to 30m)
In the drive phase, Greene said "use the power as much as possible but less energy".  One of the techniques is to control the breathing. Body position in here is lower to the ground, head down to build speed more efficiently.

Maurice Greene at 99 World Championship
4) TRANSITION (30-35m)
Transition involves only to lifting the head.

5) ACCELERATION (35-70m)
A high gear phase. Pump the arms and legs to reach the top speed at 65-70m. Reach a perfect running mechanics.

6) MAINTENANCE (70-95m)
Maintain the velocity for as long as possible. Body and muscles must relax and also control the breathing.

7) DECELERATION (95m-100m)
Head a little bit down. Goal is to eliminate or lessens the degree of deceleration.


Credit: Discovery Channel (World's Fastest Man - documentary)

Post a Comment


100m 9.91 Su Bingtian CHN, Madrid
200m 20.16 Xie Zhenye CHN, Osaka
400m 44.07 Abdalelah Haroun QAT, London
800m 1:45.65 Jinson Johnson IND, Guwahati
1500m 3:34.55 Sadik Mikhou BRN, Paris
5000m 13:01.09 Birhanu Yemataw BRN, Lausanne
10000m 27:38.16 Hassan Chani BRN, Maia
Mar 2:06.11 Yuta Shitara JPN, Tokyo
3000 Sc 8:22.00 Kosei Yamaguchi JPN, Abashiri
110mh 13.36 Ahmad Al-Mouaed KSA, Praha
400mh 46.98 Abderrahman Samba QAT, Paris
HJ 2.40 Mutaz Barshim QAT, Doha
PV 5.71 Xue Changrui CHN, Shanghai
LJ 8.47A Wang Jianan CHN, Guiyang
TJ 17.22 Dong Bin CHN, Eugene OR
SP 20.24 Tejinder Singh IND, Patiala
DT 68.85 Ehsan Hadidi IRI, Chula Vista CA
HT 78.18 Dilshod Nazarov TJK, Chorzow
JT 87.43 Neeraj Chopra IND, Doha
Dec 7948 Keisuke Ushiro JPN, Gotzis
20kmW 1:17:26 Eiki Takahashi JPN, Kobe
50kmW 3:44:25 Hiroki Arai JPN, Taichang
4x100m 37.85 Japan Team JPN, Osaka
4x400m 3:04.05 India Team IND, Gold Coast
RED = World Leader




100m 10.99 Wei Yongli CHN, Resisprint
200m 22.73 Viktoriya Zyabkina KAZ, Almaty
400m 49.08 Salwa Eid Naser BRN, Monaco
800m 2:02.23 Manal Bahraoui BRN, Duffel
1500m 4:11.55 P.U Chitra IND, Guwahati
5000m 15:10.91 Rina Nabeshima JPN, Eugene OR
10000m 31:52.42 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Yamaguchi
Mar 2:22.44 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Osaka
3000 Sc 9:10.74 Winfred Yavi BRN, Monaco
100mh 13.08 Wu Shuijiao CHN, Shanghai
400mh 55.54 Aminat Odeyemi BRN, Goleniow
HJ 1.91 Nadzehda Dusanova UZB, Tashkent
PV 4.60 Li Ling CHN, London
LJ 6.64A Xu Xiaoling CHN, Guiyang
TJ 14.25 Olga Rypakova KAZ, Paris
SP 20.38A Gong Lijiao CHN, Guiyang
DT 67.03 Chen Yang CHN, Osterode
HT 75.02 Luo Na CHN, Halle
JT 67.69 Lu Huihui CHN, Halle
Hep 5898 Purnima Hembram IND, Guwahati
20kmW 1:26:28 Qieyang Shenjie CHN, La Coruna



Copyright © 2009-2018, . All Rights Reserved . Policy . Term of Use
Sports Top Blogs Sports blogs & blog posts Free Web Stats

Back to TOP