Tajinder Singh and Salwa Eid Naser sets Asian Games Records during the First Day of Athletics in Jakarta

>> August 26, 2018

Indian shot putter Tajinder Pal Singh Toor was the highlight of the first day of athletics event at the 18th Asian Games in Jakarta yesterday (25). The 23-year-old came to the Indonesian capital aiming the 21m mark, but he apparently missed the distance but came away with a gold medal instead after throwing a new national and Games Record of 20.75m, which is also India’s ninth gold medal in shot put in Asiad. "This medal is my biggest achievement because a lot of sacrifices have been made,” he said who dominated the event right from the beginning with an opening throw of 19.96m.

China’s Liu Ying took silver in a season best distance of 19.52m, while Kazakhstan’s Ivan Ivanov third in 19.40m.

It was a catastrophe night for Saudi Arabia’s Sultan Abdulmajeed Alhebshi who won the last three editions and held the Asian Games record (20.57m), after being eliminated for registering no valid throw during his first three throws.

The 1-2 finish by Luo Na and Wang Zheng was China’s continuous domination in the women’s hammer throw, and their fifth consecutive victory in this event that contested from 2002 to 2018. Luo Na, the defending Asian champion threw the iron ball at a stunning 71.42m distance during the 4th attempt, which improved her second throw of 71.06m following an opening of 69.39m.

Wang Zheng, the Asian record holder (77.68m) managed to register her best throw of 70.86m during the third attempt, but she then fouled in the next two throws before setting 69.41m during the last throw.

Another gold medal offered during the first day night went to the defending Asian champion Daria Maslova of Kyrgyzstan who won the women’s 10000m in 32:07.23s, beating Bahrain’s Eunice Chumba in second (32:11.12) and China’s Dehsun Zhang in third (32:12.78).

Earlier in the morning, Japan’s Hiroto Inoue secured the men’s marathon gold medal after a controversial sprint finish, just ahead of Bahrain’s El Hassan El Abbassi on the finish line. They entered the stadium together but Inoue was slightly ahead coming to the closing stages. El Abbassi who became a naturalized citizen of Bahrain from Morroco attempted to surge from the inside lane in the home stretch, but the duo had a minor contact with the Bahraini was stumbling slightly.

They were credited the same time of 2:18:22, which was ~15 minutes outside the world record. Despite with the 6am start, the race was indeed held in hot and humid conditions, here, 6 out of 21 starters were unable to finish.

Performance in qualifying

The qualifying round of men’s 100m saw pre-race favourite, Su Bingtian of China who has a well-respected best time of 9.91s, had a comfortable race by clocking 10.27s (-0.6) in heat 4, with the new World U20 champion Lalu Muhammad Zohri of Indonesia also clocking 10.27s (0.0) to win the earlier heat round. The fastest time into the semifinals today was 10.13s, set by Chinese Taipei’s Yang Chun-han, a 200m specialist who clipped 0.07s off his personal best.

Japan’s Yuki Hashioka registered an 8.03m (0.0) jump to lead the finalist of men’s long jump. Thailand’s Suttisak Singkhon totalled 4239 points to lead the decathlon by over 200 points before the remaining five events today.

Bahrain’s Salwa Eid Naser broke the women’s 400m Games Record during the round 1, setting a time of 50.86s. The Nigerian born who became the youngest to reach podium over 400m at the IAAF world championship, last year, has a record of 49.08s at the quarter-mile event she set in Monaco last month, and is a clear favourite to clinch the gold medal today.

World junior champion Hima Das of India was the second fastest into the women’s 400m finals, clocking a new national record of 51.00s. China’s Wei Yongli whose best in 100m dash is 10.99s cruised to the line to win her 100m heat easily in 11.32s (-0.1).

Nine gold medals up for grab on day two today (26 August), including the men’s and women’s 100m.

Jad Adrian Washif ATFS

Post a Comment


To be updated




To be updated



Copyright © 2009-2018, AdrianSprints.com . All Rights Reserved . Policy . Term of Use
Sports Top Blogs Sports blogs & blog posts Free Web Stats

Back to TOP