Usain Bolt ‘Elected’ as the Greatest Male Sprinter of All-Time

>> January 01, 2011

Distribution of votes to pick 'the greatest sprinter of all-time'
Usain Bolt is ‘officially’ the greatest sprinter of all-time based on a one year survey of public opinion poll from January 01 - December 31, 2010 to pick the greatest sprinter in the history at a sport’s website, which has its readers from more than 100 countries.

Usain Bolt outclassed seven others sprinters likes Asafa Powell, Ben Johnson, Bob Hayes, Carl Lewis, Jesse Owens, Maurice Greene, and Michael Johnson with an unanimous decision of 60% votes.

For the record, Bolt breaks 7 world records in the sprint events within 2 years, 2008-2009 and holds the current world records in the 100m, 200m and 4x100m. He became the first human to run below 9.70s and 9.60s in the 100m. He also won 6 gold medals at the Olympics and World Championships.

The winner of 17 gold medals at the Olympics and World Championships, Carl Lewis gets second-highest votes with 12.3%. Behind Lewis was a former world’s 100m record holder Asafa Powell in 7.4% votes. Powell has the most sub 10s 100 metres of all time with 65.

The most successful long sprints (200-400m) athlete ever, Michael Johnson gets 5.2% votes, the 4th highest. Johnson holds the world records in 400m and 4x400m and has the world best mark in 300m.

Meanwhile, this poll also gave the chance to the readers to pick their own athletes. Therefore, ‘others athletes’ crept into 5th place by a 4.5% votes. I guess that it must be the votes whether for Tommie Smith or Jim Hines or Linford Christie or Tyson Gay.

Jesse Owens who won 4 gold medals at the 1936 Olympics gets 3.5% votes. Merely behind Owens was Maurice Greene, who holds the current 60m world record. Greene had become the three-time world champion at 100m, and also has run 53 times sub 10s. He got 3.2% votes.

Ben Johnson, the man who shaken the world by his incredible 9.79s in the century dash back in 1988 Olympics, however ended up with 2.3% votes, and that's really underrated!

Finally, ‘bullet’ Bob Hayes, the 1964 Olympic champion who became the first man to break under 10s in any conditions, has got the lowest rating with 1.6% votes.

Post a Comment


100m 9.91 Su Bingtian CHN, Madrid
200m 20.16 Xie Zhenye CHN, Osaka
400m 44.07 Abdalelah Haroun QAT, London
800m 1:45.65 Jinson Johnson IND, Guwahati
1500m 3:34.55 Sadik Mikhou BRN, Paris
5000m 13:01.09 Birhanu Yemataw BRN, Lausanne
10000m 27:38.16 Hassan Chani BRN, Maia
Mar 2:06.11 Yuta Shitara JPN, Tokyo
3000 Sc 8:22.00 Kosei Yamaguchi JPN, Abashiri
110mh 13.36 Ahmad Al-Mouaed KSA, Praha
400mh 46.98 Abderrahman Samba QAT, Paris
HJ 2.40 Mutaz Barshim QAT, Doha
PV 5.71 Xue Changrui CHN, Shanghai
LJ 8.47A Wang Jianan CHN, Guiyang
TJ 17.22 Dong Bin CHN, Eugene OR
SP 20.24 Tejinder Singh IND, Patiala
DT 68.85 Ehsan Hadidi IRI, Chula Vista CA
HT 78.18 Dilshod Nazarov TJK, Chorzow
JT 87.43 Neeraj Chopra IND, Doha
Dec 7948 Keisuke Ushiro JPN, Gotzis
20kmW 1:17:26 Eiki Takahashi JPN, Kobe
50kmW 3:44:25 Hiroki Arai JPN, Taichang
4x100m 37.85 Japan Team JPN, Osaka
4x400m 3:04.05 India Team IND, Gold Coast
RED = World Leader




100m 10.99 Wei Yongli CHN, Resisprint
200m 22.73 Viktoriya Zyabkina KAZ, Almaty
400m 49.08 Salwa Eid Naser BRN, Monaco
800m 2:02.23 Manal Bahraoui BRN, Duffel
1500m 4:11.55 P.U Chitra IND, Guwahati
5000m 15:10.91 Rina Nabeshima JPN, Eugene OR
10000m 31:52.42 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Yamaguchi
Mar 2:22.44 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Osaka
3000 Sc 9:10.74 Winfred Yavi BRN, Monaco
100mh 13.08 Wu Shuijiao CHN, Shanghai
400mh 55.54 Aminat Odeyemi BRN, Goleniow
HJ 1.91 Nadzehda Dusanova UZB, Tashkent
PV 4.60 Li Ling CHN, London
LJ 6.64A Xu Xiaoling CHN, Guiyang
TJ 14.25 Olga Rypakova KAZ, Paris
SP 20.38A Gong Lijiao CHN, Guiyang
DT 67.03 Chen Yang CHN, Osterode
HT 75.02 Luo Na CHN, Halle
JT 67.69 Lu Huihui CHN, Halle
Hep 5898 Purnima Hembram IND, Guwahati
20kmW 1:26:28 Qieyang Shenjie CHN, La Coruna



Copyright © 2009-2018, . All Rights Reserved . Policy . Term of Use
Sports Top Blogs Sports blogs & blog posts Free Web Stats

Back to TOP