Khairul Hafiz Becomes Asian Junior Champion

>> June 04, 2016

Malaysia's Khairul Hafiz Jantan clinched the gold medal of century dash and became the fastest man of the 17th ASIAN Junior Championships at Ho Chi Minh (4 June).

Despite running on wet track surface from the heavy rain, he was able to set a new personal best time of 10.36, defeated athletes who have ran faster than him including Saudia Arabia's Abdullah Akbar whose best time is 10.04 from the recent Mt SAC Relays in Walnut, USA that is currently number 1 or the fastest on the World and Asian junior rankings.

The 17-year-old World Youths representative recorded the fastest time over the semifinal races with 10.44, that was 0.03 off from his previous personal record from the Philippine national games at Pasig in March this year.

Japan's Ippei Takeda and Kenta Oshima finished in second and 4th with 10.41 and 10.50, respectively, while the pre-race favorite and Asian Junior record holder Abdullah Abkar third in 10.45.

Malaysia's Badrul Hisyam Abdul Manap whose best record is 10.34 came 5th in 10.54.

Shortly, Khairul (anchor) and Badrul teamed up with Asnawi Hashim (1st runner) and Haiqal Hanafi (3rd runner) to win the 4x100m heats with a fast time of 39.94 ahead of Chinese Taipei (40.05) in second. This is the team's only second fastest time after the 39.86 national junior record they set last year during ASEAN Schools.

Both Khairul and Badrul and also Asnawi and Haiqal are based in Bandar Penawar under the supervision of sprint coach Poad Kassim.

Khairul (and Badrul) will take part the 200m in the following day and is expected to run sub 21s, and possibly breaking the 48-year-old national record (20.92) held from M.Jegathesan from the 1968 Olympics. His fastest time over 200m, 21.14 was also recorded during the Philippine nationals, where he ran against a strong wind of -1.4m/s.

For a record, his achievement gives the country the first Asian Junior gold medal for men's category in the 30 years history of the U20 event.

In the previous edition (2014), Siti Nur Afiqah won the women's 400m final, the first gold since the very first one won by a Malaysian in 2004 by Siti Fauziah Razak in women's 200m.


Latest World and Asian continental rankings of U20 men's 100m

2016 WORLD U20 Ranking lists (at 4 Jun)
10.04 Abdullah Akbar (KSA)
10.16 Nigel Ellis (JAM)
10.17 Noah Lyles (USA)
10.19 Retshidisitswe Mlenga (RSA)
10.20 Brian Kasinda (ZIM)
10.21 Tlotliso Gift Leotlela (RSA)
10.22 Abdul Hakim Sani Brown (JPN)
10.24 Lehlogonolo Septokele (RSA)
10.24 Filippo Tortu (ITA)
10.25 Jhevaug Matherson (JAM)
10.25 Raheem Chambers (JAM)

2016 ASIAN U20 Ranking lists (at 4 Jun)
10.04 Abdullah Akbar (KSA)
10.22 Abdul Hakim Sani Brown (JPN)
10.27 Ippei Takeda (JPN)
10.34 Badrul Hisyam Abdul Manap (MAS)
10.36 Khairul Hafiz Jantan (MAS)

Results comparison of U20 men's 100m

IAAF WORLD Junior Championships
10.21 Kendal Williams (USA) - 18y
10.28 Trayvon Bromell (USA) - 19y
10.34 Yoshihide Kiryu (JPN) - 18y

ASIAN Championships
10.36 Khairul Hafiz Jantan (MAS) - 17y

AFRICAN Championships
10.44 Divine Oduduru (NGR) - 18y

OCEANIA Championships
10.65 Nicholas Bate (AUS) - 19y

EUROPEAN Championships
10.36 Ojie Edoburun (GBR) - 19y

SOUTH AMERICAN Championships
10.29 Vitor Hugo dos Santos (BRA) - 19y

PAN AMERICAN Championships
10.17 Reynier Mena (CUB) - 18y

*Data from latest edition of each championship, with the age of athlete when he won the title.
*The 2016 WORLD U20 Championships will take place in Bydgoszcz, Poland on 19-24 July.

Post a Comment


100m 9.91 Su Bingtian CHN, Madrid
200m 20.16 Xie Zhenye CHN, Osaka
400m 44.07 Abdalelah Haroun QAT, London
800m 1:45.65 Jinson Johnson IND, Guwahati
1500m 3:34.55 Sadik Mikhou BRN, Paris
5000m 13:01.09 Birhanu Yemataw BRN, Lausanne
10000m 27:38.16 Hassan Chani BRN, Maia
Mar 2:06.11 Yuta Shitara JPN, Tokyo
3000 Sc 8:22.00 Kosei Yamaguchi JPN, Abashiri
110mh 13.36 Ahmad Al-Mouaed KSA, Praha
400mh 46.98 Abderrahman Samba QAT, Paris
HJ 2.40 Mutaz Barshim QAT, Doha
PV 5.71 Xue Changrui CHN, Shanghai
LJ 8.47A Wang Jianan CHN, Guiyang
TJ 17.22 Dong Bin CHN, Eugene OR
SP 20.24 Tejinder Singh IND, Patiala
DT 68.85 Ehsan Hadidi IRI, Chula Vista CA
HT 78.18 Dilshod Nazarov TJK, Chorzow
JT 87.43 Neeraj Chopra IND, Doha
Dec 7948 Keisuke Ushiro JPN, Gotzis
20kmW 1:17:26 Eiki Takahashi JPN, Kobe
50kmW 3:44:25 Hiroki Arai JPN, Taichang
4x100m 37.85 Japan Team JPN, Osaka
4x400m 3:04.05 India Team IND, Gold Coast
RED = World Leader




100m 10.99 Wei Yongli CHN, Resisprint
200m 22.73 Viktoriya Zyabkina KAZ, Almaty
400m 49.08 Salwa Eid Naser BRN, Monaco
800m 2:02.23 Manal Bahraoui BRN, Duffel
1500m 4:11.55 P.U Chitra IND, Guwahati
5000m 15:10.91 Rina Nabeshima JPN, Eugene OR
10000m 31:52.42 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Yamaguchi
Mar 2:22.44 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Osaka
3000 Sc 9:10.74 Winfred Yavi BRN, Monaco
100mh 13.08 Wu Shuijiao CHN, Shanghai
400mh 55.54 Aminat Odeyemi BRN, Goleniow
HJ 1.91 Nadzehda Dusanova UZB, Tashkent
PV 4.60 Li Ling CHN, London
LJ 6.64A Xu Xiaoling CHN, Guiyang
TJ 14.25 Olga Rypakova KAZ, Paris
SP 20.38A Gong Lijiao CHN, Guiyang
DT 67.03 Chen Yang CHN, Osterode
HT 75.02 Luo Na CHN, Halle
JT 67.69 Lu Huihui CHN, Halle
Hep 5898 Purnima Hembram IND, Guwahati
20kmW 1:26:28 Qieyang Shenjie CHN, La Coruna



Copyright © 2009-2018, . All Rights Reserved . Policy . Term of Use
Sports Top Blogs Sports blogs & blog posts Free Web Stats

Back to TOP