Lalu Zohri runs 10.03 in 100m, Justin Gatlin 10.00 at Seiko Golden Grand Prix Osaka 2019

>> May 19, 2019

Indonesia's Lalu Muhammad Zohri improved his performance brilliantly, coming from lane 9 to run a blistering time of 10.03 (+1.7) to nearly beat World champion Justin Gatlin (37) who won in 10.00 and Asian champion Yoshihide Kiryu who set 10.01 during the Seiko Golden Grand Prix, the IAAF World challenge meeting at Osaka, Japan (19 May 2019).
Lalu Muhammad Zohri during the World U20 in Finland (photo by IAAF)
He also beats the Olympic qualifying standard of 10.05 and will make a trip to the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. This also means he will be in Doha World championships later in September.

It was a new lifetime best, a national record, and Southeast Asian record by ten hundreds of a second from 10.13 he set en route to winning the silver medal at the recent Asian championships, behind Kiryu.

He became the first man of Southeast Asia to run the 100m in less than 10.10. He was the 3rd for Sub-20, after Suryo Agung Wibowo (10.17 in 2009) and Khairul Hafiz Jantan (10.18 in 2016).

American Trayvon Bromell holds the World U20 record in 9.97. No other U20 man has run faster than 10.00 in 100m. Lalu's 10.03 is the World leading time and currently 6th fastest of all-time for World U20.

Yoshihide Kiryu holds the Asian junior record in 10.01. Lalu is the second fastest man for this category.

In July last year, Lalu Zohri won the world junior 100m title in 10.18s, defeating Americans Anthony Schwartz and Eric Harrison, who both set 10.22.

The 18-year-old Zohri (born July 1, 2000) grew up on Lombok Island, the southwest of Indonesia and lived there with his older brother and sister. His father died in 2017 and mother in 2015.

He was recruited into the national athletics program in early 2017. At the same year, as reported officially, he showed his potential by setting 10.57 in 100m and 21.58 in 200m, despite running against winds in both races.

He captured attention for the first time during the pre-Asian Games event in Jakarta in February 2018. He clocked 10.25 in the 100m heats and then winning a silver medal in 10.32.

Yet, his coach Eni Nuraeni Sumartoyo (see photo) revealed that he has already run an auto-time of 10.38 in 2017. It was noted during the IAAF seminar for coaches that was held during the Asian Games in Jakarta.

During the recent Asian championship at Doha, Eni Nuraeni won the 2019 Best Coach in Asia award from the Asian Athletics Association.

Lalu's coach Eni Nuraeni (white), assistant coach Kikin Rahudin (far right), author of this posting (far left)

Lalu Zohri's all-time best performance in 100m (sub 10.30).
10.03 (+1.7) ..... Osaka, Japan ... World Athletics challenge, 19 May 2019
10.13 (+1.5) ..... Doha, Qatar ... Asian championships, 22 Apr 2019
10.15 (+1.4) ..... Doha, Qatar ... Asian championships, 22 Apr 2019
10.18 (+1.2) ..... Tampere, Finland ... World Junior, 11 Jul 2018
10.20 (+0.8) ..... Jakarta, Indonesia ... Asian Games, 26 Aug 2018
10.20 (+0.1) ..... Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia ... Malaysia open GP, 30 Mar 2019
10.24 (+1.0) ..... Tampere, Finland ... World Junior, 11 Jul 2018
10.24 ( -0.2) ..... Jakarta, Indonesia ... Asian Games, 26 Aug 2018
10.25 (+1.1) ..... Jakarta, Indonesia ... Asian Games Trials, 11 Feb 2018
10.26 (+0.8) ..... Doha, Qatar ... Asian championships, 21 Apr 2019
10.27 (+0.6) ..... Gifu, Japan ... Asian Juniors, 8 Jun 2018
10.27 (  0.0) ..... Jakarta, Indonesia ... Asian Games, 25 Aug 2018
10.28 ( -0.6) ..... Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia ... Malaysia open GP, 30 Mar 2019

Watch the video (courtesy of Atletik Indonesia):

Results of men's 100m (+1.7)
1. Justin Gatlin USA 10.00
2. Yoshihide Kiryu JPN 10.01
3. Lalu Muhammad Zohri INA 10.03
4. Yuki Koike JPN 10.04
5. Ryoto Yamagata JPN 10.11
6. Shuhei Tada JPN 10.12
7. Cameron Burrell USA 10.12
8. Kendal Williams USA 10.20
9. Aska Cambridge JPN 10.30

Post a Comment


100m 9.91 Su Bingtian CHN, Madrid
200m 20.16 Xie Zhenye CHN, Osaka
400m 44.07 Abdalelah Haroun QAT, London
800m 1:45.65 Jinson Johnson IND, Guwahati
1500m 3:34.55 Sadik Mikhou BRN, Paris
5000m 13:01.09 Birhanu Yemataw BRN, Lausanne
10000m 27:38.16 Hassan Chani BRN, Maia
Mar 2:06.11 Yuta Shitara JPN, Tokyo
3000 Sc 8:22.00 Kosei Yamaguchi JPN, Abashiri
110mh 13.36 Ahmad Al-Mouaed KSA, Praha
400mh 46.98 Abderrahman Samba QAT, Paris
HJ 2.40 Mutaz Barshim QAT, Doha
PV 5.71 Xue Changrui CHN, Shanghai
LJ 8.47A Wang Jianan CHN, Guiyang
TJ 17.22 Dong Bin CHN, Eugene OR
SP 20.24 Tejinder Singh IND, Patiala
DT 68.85 Ehsan Hadidi IRI, Chula Vista CA
HT 78.18 Dilshod Nazarov TJK, Chorzow
JT 87.43 Neeraj Chopra IND, Doha
Dec 7948 Keisuke Ushiro JPN, Gotzis
20kmW 1:17:26 Eiki Takahashi JPN, Kobe
50kmW 3:44:25 Hiroki Arai JPN, Taichang
4x100m 37.85 Japan Team JPN, Osaka
4x400m 3:04.05 India Team IND, Gold Coast
RED = World Leader




100m 10.99 Wei Yongli CHN, Resisprint
200m 22.73 Viktoriya Zyabkina KAZ, Almaty
400m 49.08 Salwa Eid Naser BRN, Monaco
800m 2:02.23 Manal Bahraoui BRN, Duffel
1500m 4:11.55 P.U Chitra IND, Guwahati
5000m 15:10.91 Rina Nabeshima JPN, Eugene OR
10000m 31:52.42 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Yamaguchi
Mar 2:22.44 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Osaka
3000 Sc 9:10.74 Winfred Yavi BRN, Monaco
100mh 13.08 Wu Shuijiao CHN, Shanghai
400mh 55.54 Aminat Odeyemi BRN, Goleniow
HJ 1.91 Nadzehda Dusanova UZB, Tashkent
PV 4.60 Li Ling CHN, London
LJ 6.64A Xu Xiaoling CHN, Guiyang
TJ 14.25 Olga Rypakova KAZ, Paris
SP 20.38A Gong Lijiao CHN, Guiyang
DT 67.03 Chen Yang CHN, Osterode
HT 75.02 Luo Na CHN, Halle
JT 67.69 Lu Huihui CHN, Halle
Hep 5898 Purnima Hembram IND, Guwahati
20kmW 1:26:28 Qieyang Shenjie CHN, La Coruna



Copyright © 2009-2018, . All Rights Reserved . Policy . Term of Use
Sports Top Blogs Sports blogs & blog posts Free Web Stats

Back to TOP