74th Singapore Open Athletics Championships 2012, Results and Summary

>> August 25, 2012

The 74th edition of Singapore Open Athletics Championships kicked off today (25.08.2012) and runs until tomorrow at Bishan stadium. Around 30 teams from 12 countries (SIN, MAS, THA, PHI, INA, BRU, VIE, JPN, HKG, TPE, IND...) are registered in the annual meeting. Summary and results;

The best performance in the first day (26.08.2012) produced in the men's 400m hurdles. Japanese hurdler Yasuhiro Fueki who has a personal best (pb) of 49.94s set in Osaka (National championships) this year ran a blistering  pace and came close to the mark in a time of 50.29s, and outclassed Philippine's Junrey Bano in 2nd place (51.93s).

Vietnam's Nguyen Xuan Trong wins the two-lap event (800m), recording a time of 1:54.61s, leaving Philippine's Wenlie Maulas (1:55.14s) and Singapore's Soh Hun Qun (1:55.51s) in 2nd and 3rd places respectively.

Strong headwinds (-1.7) in the 200m race but that's not preventing Thailand's Somchai Kittisuntornrak to win the race and recorded 21.87s, beating Singapore's Lee Cheng Wei (21.99s) in 2nd place, and Lo Yen Yao (22.30s) of Chinese Taipei in 3rd.

Philippine's Julius Sermona, 34, won the 10000m race easily in a time of 32:51.69,  but way off his best 30:16.91s set in Guangzhou in 2009, obviously resulted from "lack of challenge" in the event.

Local thrower Scott Wong Wei Gen wins the shot put after producing a pb of 15.89m in his first throw. He tried to improve on his mark in the last attempt but only managed to do 15.86m. Japan's Hirofumi Oyama in 2nd place in a distance of 14.16m.

In long jump, Japanese jumpers dominated the top podiums when Kenichi Sato (7.30, 0.0) and Masaya Tsuji (7.29m, 0.0) secured the first two places from local jumper Lai Yong Hui (7.28m, +1.8) in 3rd place.

It was a very tough competition in the javelin throw. India's junior thrower Yadab Manoj, 19, opened his campaign in 65.68m, which is enough for gold medal, but it was then followed by a further 65.85m in his 2nd attempt, and once again improved to 66.11m in last attempt. Another junior thrower Ku Chia Ho of Chinese Taipei was close in 2nd place with 65.43m. Singaporean-based Malaysian thrower Akid Chong Mohd Isham was in 3rd with a pb of 63.87m, slightly ahead of another thrower of Chinese Taipei Chung Cheng Hung (63.63m).

Japanese sprinter Asana Koo, 23, takes the 200m title by clocking 24.96s in a race against strong headwinds of 1.5m/s. Teammate Megumi Shimizu who has better pb (24.06s) than Koo (24.41s) was in 2nd in 25.06s. Thailand's Khanrutai Pakdee third in 25.91s.

As in the men's 400m hurdles, Japanese athletes rules the women's section after Miyabi Tago (58.45s) and Miki Sawada (59.91s) finished as 1st-2nd winners.

India's Annu Rani has thrown 52.41m in her 4th attempt to win the javelin throw. It was her 2nd best throw of all-time after a 53.95m throw set in Hyderabad earlier in June 2012.

The first four in the shot put were non-Southeast Asians. Chinese Taipei's Lai Li Chin (19) threw 15.31m to win the first place. She was trailed by two Japanese throwers Chiaki Yokomizo (14.80m) and Chihir Shigeymana (14.56m) in 2nd and 3rd positions respectively. Her teammate Chiang Ru Ching in 4th place (14.03m).

Malaysia's Nurul Amira Mohd Nafiah is back in her shape after 30days of fasting in Ramadhan's month, registering 5.96m (0.0) in the long jump from her first jump. Next jumps were 5.91m, 5.72m, 5.61m, 5.85m and 5.89m. Japanese Fumie Takehara the Asian championships silver medalist in heptathlon was only in 2nd in 5.84m (0.0) mark but close to her pb 5.98m, with local jumper Nurul Jannah Zulkifli (5.46m,+0.1) was at her good shape close to pb 5.47m but placed in 3rd.

Vietnam's Phan Phi Hoai Thanh won the 800m in 2:23.31s, beating only a local runner Evalyne Christine (2:35.98) as there were only two finishers in the race.

Download day 1 full results here (courtesy of SAA)


Post a Comment


100m 9.91 Su Bingtian CHN, Madrid
200m 20.16 Xie Zhenye CHN, Osaka
400m 44.07 Abdalelah Haroun QAT, London
800m 1:45.65 Jinson Johnson IND, Guwahati
1500m 3:34.55 Sadik Mikhou BRN, Paris
5000m 13:01.09 Birhanu Yemataw BRN, Lausanne
10000m 27:38.16 Hassan Chani BRN, Maia
Mar 2:06.11 Yuta Shitara JPN, Tokyo
3000 Sc 8:22.00 Kosei Yamaguchi JPN, Abashiri
110mh 13.36 Ahmad Al-Mouaed KSA, Praha
400mh 46.98 Abderrahman Samba QAT, Paris
HJ 2.40 Mutaz Barshim QAT, Doha
PV 5.71 Xue Changrui CHN, Shanghai
LJ 8.47A Wang Jianan CHN, Guiyang
TJ 17.22 Dong Bin CHN, Eugene OR
SP 20.24 Tejinder Singh IND, Patiala
DT 68.85 Ehsan Hadidi IRI, Chula Vista CA
HT 78.18 Dilshod Nazarov TJK, Chorzow
JT 87.43 Neeraj Chopra IND, Doha
Dec 7948 Keisuke Ushiro JPN, Gotzis
20kmW 1:17:26 Eiki Takahashi JPN, Kobe
50kmW 3:44:25 Hiroki Arai JPN, Taichang
4x100m 37.85 Japan Team JPN, Osaka
4x400m 3:04.05 India Team IND, Gold Coast
RED = World Leader




100m 10.99 Wei Yongli CHN, Resisprint
200m 22.73 Viktoriya Zyabkina KAZ, Almaty
400m 49.08 Salwa Eid Naser BRN, Monaco
800m 2:02.23 Manal Bahraoui BRN, Duffel
1500m 4:11.55 P.U Chitra IND, Guwahati
5000m 15:10.91 Rina Nabeshima JPN, Eugene OR
10000m 31:52.42 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Yamaguchi
Mar 2:22.44 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Osaka
3000 Sc 9:10.74 Winfred Yavi BRN, Monaco
100mh 13.08 Wu Shuijiao CHN, Shanghai
400mh 55.54 Aminat Odeyemi BRN, Goleniow
HJ 1.91 Nadzehda Dusanova UZB, Tashkent
PV 4.60 Li Ling CHN, London
LJ 6.64A Xu Xiaoling CHN, Guiyang
TJ 14.25 Olga Rypakova KAZ, Paris
SP 20.38A Gong Lijiao CHN, Guiyang
DT 67.03 Chen Yang CHN, Osterode
HT 75.02 Luo Na CHN, Halle
JT 67.69 Lu Huihui CHN, Halle
Hep 5898 Purnima Hembram IND, Guwahati
20kmW 1:26:28 Qieyang Shenjie CHN, La Coruna



Copyright © 2009-2018, AdrianSprints.com . All Rights Reserved . Policy . Term of Use
Sports Top Blogs Sports blogs & blog posts Free Web Stats

Back to TOP