VIDEO Usain Bolt 9.63 100m London Olympics Yohan Blake 9.75, Justin Gatlin 9.79, Tyson Gay 9.80

>> August 06, 2012

Photo by Usain Bolt
Usain Bolt of Jamaica has becomes the second man on earth to defend a title of the men's 100m in the Olympic Games. The tall lanky Jamaican who stands 1.96m tall left out of the block with a moderate 0.165 reaction time, pulling out the fields in the halfway and surged through to the line in a new Olympic record time of 9.63s, beating his own 9.69s mark set in Beijing enroute to win his first Olympic title. Thanks to the tailwinds 1.5m/s, which he didn't get in Beijing (0.0m/s).

Teammate Yohan Blake finished in second for silver, equaling his personal best time of 9.75s. United States' Justin Gatlin the 2004 champion (9.85) registered a personal record to bag his second bronze at the Olympics, after 3rd 200m at 2004 Olympics. Tyson Gay (USA) the second fastest sprinter of all-time (9.69s) who had to do an operation in the process to heal his chronic injury in 4th position with a season best time of 9.80s.

Another American Ryan Bailey, once again setting 9.88s to finish in 5th. He previously ran 9.88s in Round 1 yesterday to equal his best time from Rieti in 2010.

Martina Churandy (NED) and Richard Thompson (TRI) made the race the greatest ever as both sprinters had registered sub-10s, with 9.94s and 9.98s for 6th and 7th positions respectively. Asafa Powell, the third fastest of all-time (9.72s) were not able to help a perfect "eight sub-10" as he stopped in the halfway due to injury, and got 11.99s.

The men's 200m in four days (9th August), Usain Bolt is gunning for the second gold in 200m (after Beijing 2008), to become the first human to retain 100m-200m titles at the Olympics. The main rival surely once again from his teammate Yohan Blake who has a pb of 19.26s (2011), slightly slower than Bolt 19.19s (2009). I reckon 19.26-19.35 in the 200m final, but who's going to run it BOLT or BLAKE ??




# Now it's blocked, but you can still watch it on youtube!

Post a Comment


To be updated




To be updated



Copyright © 2009-2018, . All Rights Reserved . Policy . Term of Use
Sports Top Blogs Sports blogs & blog posts Free Web Stats

Back to TOP