16th ASIAN Juniors at Taipei (day 3)

>> June 15, 2014

Taipei TPE, 14 June 2014 (day 3) - 16th Asian Junior Atletics Championships

Japanese Taiko Kanai takes gold medal in the men's 110mh in a time of 13.33 secs (+0.5). Teammate Masahiro Kogimato was second in 13.51 secs, while Iran's Mohamad Amin Barzi Ghamsari was in third (13.56 secs.) for silver and bronze respectively.

18-year-old Japanese high school champion Mako Fukube won the women's 100m hurdles in a modest 13.98 secs (-0.2). Indian Meghana Shetty, hails from Karnataka, returned a personal best 14.09 secs for the silver while Singapore’s Jannah Wong Min made the podium with 14.14s.

In women's 800m, another Japanese Ryoo Hirano whose personal best is 2:05.16 since 2012, made a gallant effort to stick with her throughout the final race on the evening. At the end Hirano had an ‘edge’ of two-hundredth of a second over Indian Jessy Joseph(2:06.75 to 2:06.77) for the title. Archana Adhav joined teammate Jessy on the podium with her third place finish in 2:09.11.

In men's discus throw, Iraq’s Arabian junior champion Mustafa Dagher Alsaamah justified his billing by taking the top spot with a decent 59.35m throw. China’s Yang Jing-Kai (57.49m) and Malaysian Muhammad Irfan Shamshuddin (56.07m) were the other medalists.

Chinese athletes were 1-2 in women's long jump with Li Xiao-Hong taking the gold with a leap of 6.27m followed by Rong Wang in 6.15m.

Similar feat in the women's pole vault when Li Chao-Qun (4.04m) and Yang Yang (4.00m) took gold and silver respectively. Their teammate also won a gold from men's high jump when Bai Jia-Xu cleared 2.10m to deny challenges from Kazakhstan's Roman Loshkarev and Iran's Aryan Zarekani whom bagged silver and bronze respectively despite both had an identical mark of 2.08m.

Hung Hsiu-We of Chinese Taipei harvested a gold medal from women's hammer throw in 56.46m with Thailand's SEA Games champion Panwat Gimsrang takes silver in 54.66m, 30cm short from PB.

In the men’s 200m qualifying rounds Iran’s Mohammad Hossein Abareghi, who won the 100m bronze yesterday, improved the championship record with a time of 20.63 secs.

Other meet records came from 110m hurdles (13.33 secs by Taio Kanai of Japan) and junior women’s 3000m steeplechase (10:27.29 by Nguyen Thi Oanh of Vietnam).

Teams from Japan (39.49 secs) and China (45.34s) emerged victorious in 4x100m relay for junior men and junior women divisions respectively.

China and Japan are leading in the medals table with 10 gold medals each at the end of third and penultimate day of the championships.

Jad Adrian Washif and Ram. Murali Krishnan

Post a Comment


100m 9.91 Su Bingtian CHN, Madrid
200m 20.16 Xie Zhenye CHN, Osaka
400m 44.07 Abdalelah Haroun QAT, London
800m 1:45.65 Jinson Johnson IND, Guwahati
1500m 3:34.55 Sadik Mikhou BRN, Paris
5000m 13:01.09 Birhanu Yemataw BRN, Lausanne
10000m 27:38.16 Hassan Chani BRN, Maia
Mar 2:06.11 Yuta Shitara JPN, Tokyo
3000 Sc 8:22.00 Kosei Yamaguchi JPN, Abashiri
110mh 13.36 Ahmad Al-Mouaed KSA, Praha
400mh 46.98 Abderrahman Samba QAT, Paris
HJ 2.40 Mutaz Barshim QAT, Doha
PV 5.71 Xue Changrui CHN, Shanghai
LJ 8.47A Wang Jianan CHN, Guiyang
TJ 17.22 Dong Bin CHN, Eugene OR
SP 20.24 Tejinder Singh IND, Patiala
DT 68.85 Ehsan Hadidi IRI, Chula Vista CA
HT 78.18 Dilshod Nazarov TJK, Chorzow
JT 87.43 Neeraj Chopra IND, Doha
Dec 7948 Keisuke Ushiro JPN, Gotzis
20kmW 1:17:26 Eiki Takahashi JPN, Kobe
50kmW 3:44:25 Hiroki Arai JPN, Taichang
4x100m 37.85 Japan Team JPN, Osaka
4x400m 3:04.05 India Team IND, Gold Coast
RED = World Leader




100m 10.99 Wei Yongli CHN, Resisprint
200m 22.73 Viktoriya Zyabkina KAZ, Almaty
400m 49.08 Salwa Eid Naser BRN, Monaco
800m 2:02.23 Manal Bahraoui BRN, Duffel
1500m 4:11.55 P.U Chitra IND, Guwahati
5000m 15:10.91 Rina Nabeshima JPN, Eugene OR
10000m 31:52.42 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Yamaguchi
Mar 2:22.44 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Osaka
3000 Sc 9:10.74 Winfred Yavi BRN, Monaco
100mh 13.08 Wu Shuijiao CHN, Shanghai
400mh 55.54 Aminat Odeyemi BRN, Goleniow
HJ 1.91 Nadzehda Dusanova UZB, Tashkent
PV 4.60 Li Ling CHN, London
LJ 6.64A Xu Xiaoling CHN, Guiyang
TJ 14.25 Olga Rypakova KAZ, Paris
SP 20.38A Gong Lijiao CHN, Guiyang
DT 67.03 Chen Yang CHN, Osterode
HT 75.02 Luo Na CHN, Halle
JT 67.69 Lu Huihui CHN, Halle
Hep 5898 Purnima Hembram IND, Guwahati
20kmW 1:26:28 Qieyang Shenjie CHN, La Coruna



Copyright © 2009-2018, AdrianSprints.com . All Rights Reserved . Policy . Term of Use
Sports Top Blogs Sports blogs & blog posts Free Web Stats

Back to TOP