Lalu Zohri becomes World Junior Champion

>> July 12, 2018

Indonesian sprinter Lalu Muhammad Zohri became the World junior champion at 100m dash - rewriting a new history for his country of 240 million people.

The 18-year-old tall lanky had a strong finish to give him the century dash crown at the 2018 IAAF World U20 Championships at Tampere, Finland.

He clocked a time of 10.18 (+1.2 m/s) ahead of USA Anthony Schwartz (10.22) and Eric Harrison (10.22). South Africa’s Thembo Monareng in fourth in 10.23, Britain’s Dominic Ashwell fifth in 10.25, and Sweden’s Henrik Larsson in sixth place in 10.28.

Indonesia has not won a medal or even a better position than 8th in the history of World U20 championships (established 1986), but Zohri had a great day and form to show to the world a sterling one.  He was relatively unknown in 2017, but he emerged for the "first time" during the pre - Asian Games at home in February when he posted a quick time of 10.25 (+1.1). He then won the Asian Junior title at Gifu (10.27) a month ago.

In this world championship, he ran 10.30 (+1.1) to finish first in his heats and then clocking a personal best of 10.24 (+1.0) in the semifinal to place only in 2nd behind the American Anthony Schwartz (10.19), but it also shows he had the capacity to surprise everyone.

Southeast Asian All-Time Rankings at 100m (at 12 July 2018 - by Jad Adrian ATFS)
10.17 ... Suryo Agung Wibowo (INA) - set at the age of 26y
10.18 ... Khairul Hafiz Jantan (MAS) - at 18y
10.18 ... Lalu Muhammad Zohri (INA) - at 18y
10.20 ... Mardi Lestari (INA) - at 22y
10.23 ... Reanchai Seearwong (THA) - at 22y
10.25 ... Eric Cray (PHI) - at 27y
10.28 ... Jonathan Nyepa (MAS) - at 21y
10.30 ... Watson Nyambek (MAS) - at 22y
10.30 ... Wachara Sondee (THA) - at 26y

Post a Comment


100m 9.91 Su Bingtian CHN, Madrid
200m 20.16 Xie Zhenye CHN, Osaka
400m 44.07 Abdalelah Haroun QAT, London
800m 1:45.65 Jinson Johnson IND, Guwahati
1500m 3:34.55 Sadik Mikhou BRN, Paris
5000m 13:01.09 Birhanu Yemataw BRN, Lausanne
10000m 27:38.16 Hassan Chani BRN, Maia
Mar 2:06.11 Yuta Shitara JPN, Tokyo
3000 Sc 8:22.00 Kosei Yamaguchi JPN, Abashiri
110mh 13.36 Ahmad Al-Mouaed KSA, Praha
400mh 46.98 Abderrahman Samba QAT, Paris
HJ 2.40 Mutaz Barshim QAT, Doha
PV 5.71 Xue Changrui CHN, Shanghai
LJ 8.47A Wang Jianan CHN, Guiyang
TJ 17.22 Dong Bin CHN, Eugene OR
SP 20.24 Tejinder Singh IND, Patiala
DT 68.85 Ehsan Hadidi IRI, Chula Vista CA
HT 78.18 Dilshod Nazarov TJK, Chorzow
JT 87.43 Neeraj Chopra IND, Doha
Dec 7948 Keisuke Ushiro JPN, Gotzis
20kmW 1:17:26 Eiki Takahashi JPN, Kobe
50kmW 3:44:25 Hiroki Arai JPN, Taichang
4x100m 37.85 Japan Team JPN, Osaka
4x400m 3:04.05 India Team IND, Gold Coast
RED = World Leader




100m 10.99 Wei Yongli CHN, Resisprint
200m 22.73 Viktoriya Zyabkina KAZ, Almaty
400m 49.08 Salwa Eid Naser BRN, Monaco
800m 2:02.23 Manal Bahraoui BRN, Duffel
1500m 4:11.55 P.U Chitra IND, Guwahati
5000m 15:10.91 Rina Nabeshima JPN, Eugene OR
10000m 31:52.42 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Yamaguchi
Mar 2:22.44 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Osaka
3000 Sc 9:10.74 Winfred Yavi BRN, Monaco
100mh 13.08 Wu Shuijiao CHN, Shanghai
400mh 55.54 Aminat Odeyemi BRN, Goleniow
HJ 1.91 Nadzehda Dusanova UZB, Tashkent
PV 4.60 Li Ling CHN, London
LJ 6.64A Xu Xiaoling CHN, Guiyang
TJ 14.25 Olga Rypakova KAZ, Paris
SP 20.38A Gong Lijiao CHN, Guiyang
DT 67.03 Chen Yang CHN, Osterode
HT 75.02 Luo Na CHN, Halle
JT 67.69 Lu Huihui CHN, Halle
Hep 5898 Purnima Hembram IND, Guwahati
20kmW 1:26:28 Qieyang Shenjie CHN, La Coruna



Copyright © 2009-2018, . All Rights Reserved . Policy . Term of Use
Sports Top Blogs Sports blogs & blog posts Free Web Stats

Back to TOP