5th SEA Athletics Junior Championship Concluded in Bangkok, Thailand

>> November 09, 2010

The 5th SEA Athletics Junior Championship concluded last week at Bangkok, Thailand. A total of 9 countries were taking part at the 2 days meet that was held at November 03-04, 2010.

This year games saw a team outside the Southeast Asia, Hong Kong was invited to take part. It's perhaps to give the opportunity for the SEA athletes to feel a different ambiance of competition.

Sprinter Jirapong Meenapra of Thailand ruled the sprints events with a triple gold medals performances. Jirapong, who one of the finalists in the 100m at the Youth Olympic Games (YOG) in Singapore this year has timed 10.45s (0.0) in the sprint century, 21.25s (+1.1) in the half-lap sprint, and a 40.53s performance in the one-lap relays.

It was also an improvement on his 100m PR of 10.51 (+2.0) he set in Phetchaburi, Thailand in January 2010. With the achievement, Jirapong is now moved to the 4th fastest in the World youth lists.

Malaysia team bagged three gold medals home. The gold medals were contributed by high jumpers Kavee Alagan and Shandyiani Mahendran who leaped 2.08m and 1.72m respectively. The third medal was added from the boy’s 2000m steeplechase by Ahmad Luth Hamizan. He managed to clock a time of 6:05.86s.

The championships was initially to be held in Kuala Lumpur in June but then it was rescheduled. The reason why, we all not sure, perhaps the financial restriction? also not sure, but in the month of June the Malaysian Games was held, hence the managements, officials, athletes etc. were focused on it.

However the championship was not only rescheduled but eventually moved to Bangkok, why? maybe "they" don't care about SEA Athletics Junior Championship. But the consequences of this amendment has affected majority of athletes (of course!) especially the Philippines athletes as stated by a friend on the Pinoymiler's site.

For full results click here (Courtesy of Athletics Association of Thailand)

Post a Comment


To be updated




To be updated



Copyright © 2009-2018, AdrianSprints.com . All Rights Reserved . Policy . Term of Use
Sports Top Blogs Sports blogs & blog posts Free Web Stats

Back to TOP