Asafa Powell and Veronica Campbell Wins Jamaican Nationals with 10.08s and 10.84s Respectively - Video Highlights

>> June 25, 2011

A former world record holder Asafa Powell who was the last one out of the blocks edges Yohan Blake and Steve Mullings right on the finish line to win the Jamaican Nationals in Kingston. Powell who won the bronze at the previous World championship in Berlin stopped the clock at 10.08s, with Blake a mere one hundredth of a second behind for Silver. Steve Mullings who ran 9.80s this month also very close in third with 10.10s. All three sprinters will be representing Jamaica at the World Championship in Daegu in August together with Usain Bolt who was given an auto entry as a defending champion of 100m dash.

Nesta Carter who ran 9.78s last year was fourth in 10.12s. Despite of lowering his personal best twice this year, experienced sprinter Michael Frater took fifth in 10.18s - both missed the individual slot for the World championship but will certainly be selected for the 4x100m relay.

The -1.8 headwinds during the finals seems prevented the sprinters to run fast. In a fair condition with a slight tailwinds (+0.6) in the semifinals, Asafa Powell ran a season best 9.90s with four others clocking sub 10 - Steve Mullings (9.96s), Yohan Blake (9.97s), Michael Frater (9.98s) and Nesta Carter (9.98s).

Meanwhile in the absence of the reigning Olympic champion Shelly Ann Fraser, Veronica Campbell proved too strong to the rest sprinters when she crosses the line at 10.84s (+0.3) to win the women's title over Kerron Stewart (10.97s) and new comer Jura Levy (11.10s). Campbell was nearly 'DQ' due to a false start in her semifinals but she was only given a 'green card' by the officials so she could make the team and winning the gold medal for Jamaica in Daegu.

Men's 100m Final Video

Women's 100m Final Video

Post a Comment


100m 9.91 Su Bingtian CHN, Madrid
200m 20.16 Xie Zhenye CHN, Osaka
400m 44.07 Abdalelah Haroun QAT, London
800m 1:45.65 Jinson Johnson IND, Guwahati
1500m 3:34.55 Sadik Mikhou BRN, Paris
5000m 13:01.09 Birhanu Yemataw BRN, Lausanne
10000m 27:38.16 Hassan Chani BRN, Maia
Mar 2:06.11 Yuta Shitara JPN, Tokyo
3000 Sc 8:22.00 Kosei Yamaguchi JPN, Abashiri
110mh 13.36 Ahmad Al-Mouaed KSA, Praha
400mh 46.98 Abderrahman Samba QAT, Paris
HJ 2.40 Mutaz Barshim QAT, Doha
PV 5.71 Xue Changrui CHN, Shanghai
LJ 8.47A Wang Jianan CHN, Guiyang
TJ 17.22 Dong Bin CHN, Eugene OR
SP 20.24 Tejinder Singh IND, Patiala
DT 68.85 Ehsan Hadidi IRI, Chula Vista CA
HT 78.18 Dilshod Nazarov TJK, Chorzow
JT 87.43 Neeraj Chopra IND, Doha
Dec 7948 Keisuke Ushiro JPN, Gotzis
20kmW 1:17:26 Eiki Takahashi JPN, Kobe
50kmW 3:44:25 Hiroki Arai JPN, Taichang
4x100m 37.85 Japan Team JPN, Osaka
4x400m 3:04.05 India Team IND, Gold Coast
RED = World Leader




100m 10.99 Wei Yongli CHN, Resisprint
200m 22.73 Viktoriya Zyabkina KAZ, Almaty
400m 49.08 Salwa Eid Naser BRN, Monaco
800m 2:02.23 Manal Bahraoui BRN, Duffel
1500m 4:11.55 P.U Chitra IND, Guwahati
5000m 15:10.91 Rina Nabeshima JPN, Eugene OR
10000m 31:52.42 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Yamaguchi
Mar 2:22.44 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Osaka
3000 Sc 9:10.74 Winfred Yavi BRN, Monaco
100mh 13.08 Wu Shuijiao CHN, Shanghai
400mh 55.54 Aminat Odeyemi BRN, Goleniow
HJ 1.91 Nadzehda Dusanova UZB, Tashkent
PV 4.60 Li Ling CHN, London
LJ 6.64A Xu Xiaoling CHN, Guiyang
TJ 14.25 Olga Rypakova KAZ, Paris
SP 20.38A Gong Lijiao CHN, Guiyang
DT 67.03 Chen Yang CHN, Osterode
HT 75.02 Luo Na CHN, Halle
JT 67.69 Lu Huihui CHN, Halle
Hep 5898 Purnima Hembram IND, Guwahati
20kmW 1:26:28 Qieyang Shenjie CHN, La Coruna



Copyright © 2009-2018, . All Rights Reserved . Policy . Term of Use
Sports Top Blogs Sports blogs & blog posts Free Web Stats

Back to TOP