Prefontaine Classic 2011: Steve Mullings 100m 9.80s, Carmelita Jeters 100m 10.70s, David Oliver 110mh 12.94s, and Tyson Gay 100m 9.79s WL in Clermont

>> June 05, 2011

Jamaica's Steve Mullings blasts to a personal best time of 9.80s to win the men's 100m at the Nike Prefontaine Classic (IAAF Diamond League) in Eugene, Oregon US (June 04, 2011). It's the sixth time he recorded under 10s this year. The following is a detail of Mullings' performances to date (this year);

04.06.2011   9.80s +1.3    1         Eugene
21.05.2011   9.89s +2.0    1        Clermont
16.04.2011   9.90s +2.0    1r1     Starkville
21.05.2011   9.91s +2.7    1h2    Clermont
31.05.2011   9.97s -0.2    2rA     Ostrava

However Mullings' time was short to a World leading time 9.79s set by Tyson Gay (his teammate) at a small meet in Clermont only hours before. See amateur video at the bottom.

Steve Mullings 9.80s +1.3 (not World lead)

Meanwhile, USA's Jarmelita Jeters produced a stunning time 10.70s to destroy a strong women field and set the World leading time. Despite a slow reaction time 0.188, she was lucky as the race assisted by tailwinds of 2.0 m/s. Behind Jeters was Marshevet Myers of USA who set a PB of 10.86s. Jamaicans Kerron Stewart, Shelly-Ann Fraser and Sherone Simpson finished third, four and fifth in times of 10.87s, 10.95s and 11.00s respectively

Carmelita Jeters 10.70 +2.0

In the men's 110mh, David Oliver beats Liu Xiang to redeem a defeat in the Shanghai Diamond league last month and set a World lead time 12.94s. Liu who had ended Oliver's 20 winning steak in Shanghai clocked a season best time of 13.00s.

David Oliver 12.94s World lead

Most people thought that Mulling has lowered his World leading time 9.89s in the race in Eugene, but Tyson Gay set an explosive 9.79s a few hours earlier at a small meeting in Clermont, Florida US. Gay had a legal win of 1.1 m/s for the run.

Tyson Gay 9.79s in Clermont (World lead)

Check out FULL RESULTS at the 2011 Diamond League (Prefontaine Classic), Eugene, Oregon, USA

Post a Comment


100m 9.91 Su Bingtian CHN, Madrid
200m 20.16 Xie Zhenye CHN, Osaka
400m 44.07 Abdalelah Haroun QAT, London
800m 1:45.65 Jinson Johnson IND, Guwahati
1500m 3:34.55 Sadik Mikhou BRN, Paris
5000m 13:01.09 Birhanu Yemataw BRN, Lausanne
10000m 27:38.16 Hassan Chani BRN, Maia
Mar 2:06.11 Yuta Shitara JPN, Tokyo
3000 Sc 8:22.00 Kosei Yamaguchi JPN, Abashiri
110mh 13.36 Ahmad Al-Mouaed KSA, Praha
400mh 46.98 Abderrahman Samba QAT, Paris
HJ 2.40 Mutaz Barshim QAT, Doha
PV 5.71 Xue Changrui CHN, Shanghai
LJ 8.47A Wang Jianan CHN, Guiyang
TJ 17.22 Dong Bin CHN, Eugene OR
SP 20.24 Tejinder Singh IND, Patiala
DT 68.85 Ehsan Hadidi IRI, Chula Vista CA
HT 78.18 Dilshod Nazarov TJK, Chorzow
JT 87.43 Neeraj Chopra IND, Doha
Dec 7948 Keisuke Ushiro JPN, Gotzis
20kmW 1:17:26 Eiki Takahashi JPN, Kobe
50kmW 3:44:25 Hiroki Arai JPN, Taichang
4x100m 37.85 Japan Team JPN, Osaka
4x400m 3:04.05 India Team IND, Gold Coast
RED = World Leader




100m 10.99 Wei Yongli CHN, Resisprint
200m 22.73 Viktoriya Zyabkina KAZ, Almaty
400m 49.08 Salwa Eid Naser BRN, Monaco
800m 2:02.23 Manal Bahraoui BRN, Duffel
1500m 4:11.55 P.U Chitra IND, Guwahati
5000m 15:10.91 Rina Nabeshima JPN, Eugene OR
10000m 31:52.42 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Yamaguchi
Mar 2:22.44 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Osaka
3000 Sc 9:10.74 Winfred Yavi BRN, Monaco
100mh 13.08 Wu Shuijiao CHN, Shanghai
400mh 55.54 Aminat Odeyemi BRN, Goleniow
HJ 1.91 Nadzehda Dusanova UZB, Tashkent
PV 4.60 Li Ling CHN, London
LJ 6.64A Xu Xiaoling CHN, Guiyang
TJ 14.25 Olga Rypakova KAZ, Paris
SP 20.38A Gong Lijiao CHN, Guiyang
DT 67.03 Chen Yang CHN, Osterode
HT 75.02 Luo Na CHN, Halle
JT 67.69 Lu Huihui CHN, Halle
Hep 5898 Purnima Hembram IND, Guwahati
20kmW 1:26:28 Qieyang Shenjie CHN, La Coruna



Copyright © 2009-2018, . All Rights Reserved . Policy . Term of Use
Sports Top Blogs Sports blogs & blog posts Free Web Stats

Back to TOP