Nine Sprinters Ran Sub-10 Seconds ! The Best and The Fastest Day in the History of Sprinting

>> June 05, 2011

The 2011 Prefontaine Classic in Eugene, Oregon (USA) ran yesterday saw six sprinters managed to dip under 10 seconds in the century dash. The race was won by Steve Mullings of Jamaica in 9.80s, an impressive improvement of his previous PB 9.89s set 2 weeks ago. Second place went to USA's Mike Rodgers who set a respected PB 9.85s, while Jamaica's Nesta Carter third in 9.92s.

Free shipping when you spend $75.  Use code LKS1V675.  Valid 5/29 - 7/2.  Online only; some exclusions may apply.Fourth & fifth positions were determined by the photo finish where USA's Darvis Patton who tied with Jamaica's Michael Frater at 9.94s was eventually given fourth place, but it's a bonus for Frater who lowered his PB from 9.97 to 9.94ss. A former Olympic and World champion, Justin Gatlin regained his top form to clock 9.97s (his fastest time since 2006) despite of finishing in sixth. The two last finishers, Richard Thompson (TRI) and Ivory William (USA) also ran fast with 10.01s and 10.02s respectively. The race was aided by tailwinds 1.3 m/s.

It's perhaps the best 100m race of all-time, or equaling the 1991 World Championship's record, where six sprinters crossed the finishing line under 10s (Carl Lewis 9.86s WR, Leroy Burrell 9.88s PB, Dennis Mitchell 9.91s PB, Linford Christie 9.92s PB, Frank Frederick 9.95s PB, and Raymond Stewart 9.96s PB).

Update: Also equaled the achievement of the 2008 Olympics in Beijing, where 6 sprinters clocked sub-10s (Usain Bolt 9.69s WR, Richard Thompson 9.89 PB, Walter Dix 9.91 PB, Churandy Martina 9.93 NR, Asafa Powell 9.95, and Michael Frater 9.97 PB).

Previous article (including results and videos) on 2011 Prefontaine Classic (IAAF Diamond League) here

A few hours earlier, top American sprinter Tyson Gay opens his 100m race of the 2011 season with a World-leading time 9.79s in a heat race of Sprint Series meet at the National Training Centre (NTS) in Clermont, Florida. In the race, two other sprinters Nickel Ashmeade of Jamaica and Kleston Bledman of Triniad and Tobago ran the sub-10s for the first time with 9.96s and 9.99s respectively. Travis Padgett of the USA came fourth in 10 flat. Tyson Gay didn't run in the final race but Kleston Bledman blazes to 9.93s (+1.0) to edge his PB again and winning the final race.

All together, 6 sprinters ran under 10s in Eugene, Oregon + 3 sprinters in Clermont, Florida. This makes (perhaps) JUNE 04 the best and the fastest day in the history of sprinting, with 9 sprinters clocking under 10 seconds!


Tyson Gay's 9.79s World-leading 100m Video at Star Athletics Sprint Series,
Clermont, Florida, US

Men's 100m Prefontaine Classic Video, 6 Sprinters Ran Under 10 Seconds

Kleston Bledman's 9.93s Video, Two-Times Sub-10s and PBs in a Day

Men's 100m Final Video at the 1991 World Championship in Tokyo, Japan
6 Men Ran Under 10s

Olympic Games, Beijing 2008 - 6 Men Ran Under 10s.

Post a Comment


100m 9.91 Su Bingtian CHN, Madrid
200m 20.16 Xie Zhenye CHN, Osaka
400m 44.07 Abdalelah Haroun QAT, London
800m 1:45.65 Jinson Johnson IND, Guwahati
1500m 3:34.55 Sadik Mikhou BRN, Paris
5000m 13:01.09 Birhanu Yemataw BRN, Lausanne
10000m 27:38.16 Hassan Chani BRN, Maia
Mar 2:06.11 Yuta Shitara JPN, Tokyo
3000 Sc 8:22.00 Kosei Yamaguchi JPN, Abashiri
110mh 13.36 Ahmad Al-Mouaed KSA, Praha
400mh 46.98 Abderrahman Samba QAT, Paris
HJ 2.40 Mutaz Barshim QAT, Doha
PV 5.71 Xue Changrui CHN, Shanghai
LJ 8.47A Wang Jianan CHN, Guiyang
TJ 17.22 Dong Bin CHN, Eugene OR
SP 20.24 Tejinder Singh IND, Patiala
DT 68.85 Ehsan Hadidi IRI, Chula Vista CA
HT 78.18 Dilshod Nazarov TJK, Chorzow
JT 87.43 Neeraj Chopra IND, Doha
Dec 7948 Keisuke Ushiro JPN, Gotzis
20kmW 1:17:26 Eiki Takahashi JPN, Kobe
50kmW 3:44:25 Hiroki Arai JPN, Taichang
4x100m 37.85 Japan Team JPN, Osaka
4x400m 3:04.05 India Team IND, Gold Coast
RED = World Leader




100m 10.99 Wei Yongli CHN, Resisprint
200m 22.73 Viktoriya Zyabkina KAZ, Almaty
400m 49.08 Salwa Eid Naser BRN, Monaco
800m 2:02.23 Manal Bahraoui BRN, Duffel
1500m 4:11.55 P.U Chitra IND, Guwahati
5000m 15:10.91 Rina Nabeshima JPN, Eugene OR
10000m 31:52.42 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Yamaguchi
Mar 2:22.44 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Osaka
3000 Sc 9:10.74 Winfred Yavi BRN, Monaco
100mh 13.08 Wu Shuijiao CHN, Shanghai
400mh 55.54 Aminat Odeyemi BRN, Goleniow
HJ 1.91 Nadzehda Dusanova UZB, Tashkent
PV 4.60 Li Ling CHN, London
LJ 6.64A Xu Xiaoling CHN, Guiyang
TJ 14.25 Olga Rypakova KAZ, Paris
SP 20.38A Gong Lijiao CHN, Guiyang
DT 67.03 Chen Yang CHN, Osterode
HT 75.02 Luo Na CHN, Halle
JT 67.69 Lu Huihui CHN, Halle
Hep 5898 Purnima Hembram IND, Guwahati
20kmW 1:26:28 Qieyang Shenjie CHN, La Coruna



Copyright © 2009-2018, . All Rights Reserved . Policy . Term of Use
Sports Top Blogs Sports blogs & blog posts Free Web Stats

Back to TOP