25th Mount Kinabalu International Climbathon 2011

>> October 24, 2011

The 2011 edition of Mount Kinabalu International Climbathon was held over the weekend (22-23 October, 2011) in Ranau, Sabah - 2011 also marks the 25th anniversary of an outstanding race in the most beautiful and wonderful location of mountains in Southeast Asia or if not in the World!! and as usual, World's top runners from Europe (most from World Syrunner Series) were taking part in this course which regarded the toughest in the World. There're three categories - men open (23rd/10), men veteran & women open (22nd/10).

The champions L-R: Hernando, Killian Jornet, De Gasperi
Kilian Jornet of Spain has becomes the fastest to finish the 21km course in 2:37:04 and bagged home USD 4,500. Defending champion and the course's record holder Marco De Gesperi of Italy who trailed in less than a minute came second in 2:37:48 and won USD 4,000. In addition, De Gesperi was awarded the "Loket Emas" (Gold Pendant) as he was the first one to reach the summit (4,095m), timed 1:37:47. The USD 3,500 offered for third placing grabbed by Jornet's countryman Luis Alberto Hernando in 2:42:36. Local runner Safrey Sumping went to win the Malaysian men category after crossed the line at 2:55:12, 6th overall.

In women category, 44-year-old Danny Gongot of Ranau clinched the first place in 3:41:29, surprisingly it was her 4th title after 1997, 1998 and 2003 editions. With the victory she received USD 4,500. She was reported to wear only a pair of "cheap" and less suitable footwear namely "adidas kampong" (rubber tapper's shoe) which costs less than USD 3.00 (RM 9.00). In spite of that, she shocked two experienced foreign runners, Anna Frost (3:43:41) of New Zealand and American Brandy Erholtz (3:50:35) who in second and third positions respectively. Danny Gongot's cousin Yusuf Sumbad won the men's veteran category, dethroned local favorite and defending champion Guanus Salagan in the second place.

The race first held in 1987 with a goal of "train people to fast rescue" as helicopter could not operate during bad weather, and now for the 9th consecutive year the Kinabalu Climbathon has been a part of the only 16 races of Sky Runners World Series (including 9 world series trials) held in 12 countries across 4 continent each year.

Video promotion for 2011 edition

Photos of the Kinabalu

Photos courtesy of:
Sabah Tourism
TheStar Malaysia
The Sabah Times
Mt. Kinabalu Tvavelogue
Southeast Asia feet the warmth

Post a Comment


To be updated




To be updated



Copyright © 2009-2018, AdrianSprints.com . All Rights Reserved . Policy . Term of Use
Sports Top Blogs Sports blogs & blog posts Free Web Stats

Back to TOP