Strong winds ‘spoils’ opening day of 15th Asian Junior Athletics Championships 2012 in Colombo

>> June 10, 2012

Unfavorable conditions disrupted the times of sprint events at first day of the 15th Asian Junior Athletics Championships 2012 yesterday (9 June 2012) at Sugathadasa Stadium at Colombo, Sri Lanka.

The men’s 100m final were against a strong headwind of -2.3 mps but Iranian Hassan Taftian (pb 10.41) had too much power to reach the finish line quicker than others and became the fastest man this edition, clocking 10.49. He beats China’s Xie Zhenye whose pb is 10.36s and Saudi Arabia’s Youssef Al Shalani Ali in second (10.54) and third (10.64) positions respectively. Li Tao’s meet record of 10.26 established at Djakarta in 1986 remained unchallenged.

Chinese Taipei’s Liao Ching-Hsien went to win the women’s 100m in a time of 11.97 (-0.8), beating China’s Lin Huijin by just one hundredths of a second in second place (11.98), while Thailand’s Pakdee Khanrutai third in 12.17.

Japanese twins Kyuma Haruka and Kyuma Moe were against each other in the women’s 5000m. In a thrilling clash, Kyuma Haruka crosses the line in 16:07.74 to take the gold medal from Kyuma Moe who trailed in second in 16:08.17. Both times surpasses the meet record 16:10.95 held by Nami Matsuda since 2006.

Chinese team leads the championships with three gold medals out of seven in the first day. China’s first gold produced by Li Meng in the men’s shot put after throwing 19.95m, just 4cm short to Shahrokhi Syeyed’s meet record 19.99m. Zhang Wei clears 5.35m in the men’s pole vault and won it with a margin of 55cm. He however didn’t able to beat his lifetime best of 5.50m.

Fu Haitao effort to break personal best 16.56m in the men’s triple jump was marred by the windy condition, but eventually adds the gold for China with 16.38m (+1.1) in his last jump, defeating Thailand’s Tepparak Phatchaya in second place (16.25m).

34 countries of Asian continental take part in these bi-annual junior championships.

First three results at day 1 (09.06.2012)

100m (-2.3): Taftian Hassan (IRI) 10.49
Xie Zhenye (CHN) 10.54
Al Shalani Yousef Ali (KSA) 10.64

Pole Vault: Zhang Wei (CHN) 5.35 NMR
Fuji Daiki (JPN) 4.80
Mohd Fahme Zamzam (MAS) 4.20

Triple Jump: Fu Haitao (CHN) 16.38
Tepparak Pratchaya (THA) 16.25
Khosravi Mostafa (IRI) 15.31

Shot Put: Li Meng (CHN) 19.95
Abdul Qadri Mohamma Omer (KSA) 18.44
Wong Kai Yuen (SIN) 17.39

Hammer Throw: n/a

100m (-0.8): Liao Ching-Hsien (TPE) 11.97
Lin Huijun (CHN) 11.98
Pakdee Khanrutai (THA) 12.17

5000m: Kyuma Haruka (JPN) 16:07.74 NMR
Kyuma Moe (JPN) 16:08.17
Kim Hyr Gyeeg (PRK) 16:32.02

NMR = New Meet Record

Post a Comment


To be updated




To be updated



Copyright © 2009-2018, . All Rights Reserved . Policy . Term of Use
Sports Top Blogs Sports blogs & blog posts Free Web Stats

Back to TOP