Athletics Highlights and Results Day 2 - Sukma 2012

>> July 11, 2012

XV Sukma 2012, Kuantan - Highlights Day 2 (11 July 2012)
- switch to day 1 - day 3 - day 4

Harith Ammar Mohd Sobri became the fastest man in the XV Malaysian Games 2012 after crossing the line in 10.84s as the winner on the newly installed blue track at Darul Makmur Stadium in Kuantan. The 18-year-old from Terengganu who ran 10.66 in Surabaya last week, defeated Kedah's Mohd Helmi Ahmad (10.92s) and Sabah's Eddie Edwards Jr (10.93) in 2nd and 3rd places respectively.  The 4th and 5th finishers were Hisyam Alias (10.94) and Shahmimi Azmi (10.95).

Zaidatul Husniah Zulkifli of Penang secured the gold medal of the women's 100m for his family as the pre-race favorite, Zaidatul Husna, her twin sister was unable to get back her form after suffering a hamstring injury a few weeks ago. She clocked a time of 12.29s (12.24s in semifinal). Johore's Lee Jia Qin takes the silver medal in 12.45, Sabah's Stefbilce Sandy Stephen clinched the bronze in 12.50m.

Kannathasan s/o Subramaniam of Selangor wins the men's 400m with a personal best time of 47.48s. He beats Malacca's Schzuan Ahmad Rosely who also recorded a pb of 47.68s in second place. Sabah's Anchois Aron finishes third in 48.64s.

Nurul Faezah Asma Mazlan of Terengganu upsets the defending champion Nurulassikin Mohd Rasid of Johore in the women's 400m as she takes the gold medal in a time of 57.18s, with Nurulassikin trailing close behind in 57.49. Newcomer Fathin Faqihah Mohd Yusuf of Sabah won the bronze in 58.11s.

Kavee Alagan s/o Anpalagan of Negeri Sembilan registered a 2.21m (4th All-Time) clearance in the men's high jump to bag the gold medal and eclipsed Lee Hup Wei's Games record 2.20m. Interestingly, he also matched the season best height by Lee Hup Wei who a few days ago announced as the representative for the London Olympics. Not less impressive, Navin Raj s/o Subramaniam finished in second, but cleared a good height of 2.19m (5th All-Time), and followed by a 17-year-old Azly Ghazali of Selangor who made 2.15m.

Saranraj s/o Subramaniam, the host runner wins the men's 5000m in 16:00.73, and denied the challenge from the 10,000m champion Ahmad Luth Hamizan (NSE) who only managed to finish in 2nd (16:04.05). Third placing was filled by Perak's Tanakendiran s/o Sumudum in 16:07.55.

Shahidatun Nadia Mohd Zuki of Kedah takes the women's triple jump title as she leaped to a distance of 12.77m, defeating teammate Nur Izzati Akmal in 2nd place with 11.81, while Sabah's Merry Gabali satisfied in third but with a pb of 11.70m.

Nur Aisyah Ahmat of Sarawak won the women's 5000m, setting 20:06.76s. 2nd finisher was Pahang's Previna d/o Arumugam who timed 20:39.52 while 3rd placer was Johore's Yap Nyok Sing in 21:16.12.

Shahrin Selamat of Selangor has caused a major upset to the favorite Mohamad Alif Hanif of Terengganu as he clinched the gold in a throw of 14.21m, over 14.04m. Another youngster of Selangor Shahul Iqmal Baharuden took the bronze in 13.18m.

Mohamed Fahmi Meslan of Johore retained his title in decathlon after totaling 5956 points and secured the gold medal from Selangor's Sia Joo Yao (5614) and Sabah's Sylvester Yamud (5438).

Post a Comment


To be updated




To be updated



Copyright © 2009-2018, . All Rights Reserved . Policy . Term of Use
Sports Top Blogs Sports blogs & blog posts Free Web Stats

Back to TOP