Spain World Champion, Paul Octopus 8 wins, Jimmy Jump Again

>> July 12, 2010

For the first time national team of Spain became the champion of the world after a 1-0 triumph over Netherlands at the FIFA World Cup final match at Johannesburg SA yesterday.

Spain’s winning goal scored by Andres Iniesta at the final 5 minutes in the second half of the extra time in front 89,000 spectators at Soccer City. Consequently, the Dutch joins their 1974 and 1978 team's feat as the World Cup bridesmaids.

In contrast, the wait was finally over for Spain after years of underachieving on soccer's biggest stage. Spain finally joins the World Cup winners alongside Brazil (5), Italy (4) , West Germany (3), Uruguay (2), Argentina (2), England (1) and France (1).

Spain also becomes the first nation since West Germany in 1974 to hold both the European championship and World Cup title simultaneously.

Meanwhile, referee Howard Webb issued 14 yellow cards, including one resulting in a red card for defender John Heitinga that brought Netherlands down to 10 men during second half of extra time.

FIFA president Sepp Blatter handed over the World Cup trophy to Spain’s captain and goalkeeper Iker Casillas.

Winning goal's video:

The Octopus

The Octopus known as Paul has made waves in the world’s business for a month. He made six selections over matches involving Germany before the Sunday’s final match. And on Sunday he has successfully predicted the champion of the world! Spain defeated Netherlands. Earlier, he precisely selected Germany as the third place winner over Uruguay.

Paul first developed his abilities during the 2008 European Championship in which he predicted five out of six games involving Germany correctly.

As a result, Paul was suggested to be sent to Iraq to choose between two bitter rivals - Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki and his main challenger, Ayad Allawi - vying to head the new government.

Jimmy Jump

Spanish prankster/joker "Jimmy Jump" who has a history of hijacking events tried to grab the World Cup trophy moments before players were due to walk out at Soccer City for the Final.

He ran in from a corner of the stadium and raced across the field toward the halfway line, where the trophy had been placed on a table. However, he was tackled by a FIFA officer just before he could get to the trophy and was carried away by security guards.

Here is the video:

Jimmy Jump streaker at Eurovision song contest 2010:

Jimmy Jump at Saint Denis - Rugby World Cup Final 2007 Paris:

Post a Comment


100m 9.91 Su Bingtian CHN, Madrid
200m 20.16 Xie Zhenye CHN, Osaka
400m 44.07 Abdalelah Haroun QAT, London
800m 1:45.65 Jinson Johnson IND, Guwahati
1500m 3:34.55 Sadik Mikhou BRN, Paris
5000m 13:01.09 Birhanu Yemataw BRN, Lausanne
10000m 27:38.16 Hassan Chani BRN, Maia
Mar 2:06.11 Yuta Shitara JPN, Tokyo
3000 Sc 8:22.00 Kosei Yamaguchi JPN, Abashiri
110mh 13.36 Ahmad Al-Mouaed KSA, Praha
400mh 46.98 Abderrahman Samba QAT, Paris
HJ 2.40 Mutaz Barshim QAT, Doha
PV 5.71 Xue Changrui CHN, Shanghai
LJ 8.47A Wang Jianan CHN, Guiyang
TJ 17.22 Dong Bin CHN, Eugene OR
SP 20.24 Tejinder Singh IND, Patiala
DT 68.85 Ehsan Hadidi IRI, Chula Vista CA
HT 78.18 Dilshod Nazarov TJK, Chorzow
JT 87.43 Neeraj Chopra IND, Doha
Dec 7948 Keisuke Ushiro JPN, Gotzis
20kmW 1:17:26 Eiki Takahashi JPN, Kobe
50kmW 3:44:25 Hiroki Arai JPN, Taichang
4x100m 37.85 Japan Team JPN, Osaka
4x400m 3:04.05 India Team IND, Gold Coast
RED = World Leader




100m 10.99 Wei Yongli CHN, Resisprint
200m 22.73 Viktoriya Zyabkina KAZ, Almaty
400m 49.08 Salwa Eid Naser BRN, Monaco
800m 2:02.23 Manal Bahraoui BRN, Duffel
1500m 4:11.55 P.U Chitra IND, Guwahati
5000m 15:10.91 Rina Nabeshima JPN, Eugene OR
10000m 31:52.42 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Yamaguchi
Mar 2:22.44 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Osaka
3000 Sc 9:10.74 Winfred Yavi BRN, Monaco
100mh 13.08 Wu Shuijiao CHN, Shanghai
400mh 55.54 Aminat Odeyemi BRN, Goleniow
HJ 1.91 Nadzehda Dusanova UZB, Tashkent
PV 4.60 Li Ling CHN, London
LJ 6.64A Xu Xiaoling CHN, Guiyang
TJ 14.25 Olga Rypakova KAZ, Paris
SP 20.38A Gong Lijiao CHN, Guiyang
DT 67.03 Chen Yang CHN, Osterode
HT 75.02 Luo Na CHN, Halle
JT 67.69 Lu Huihui CHN, Halle
Hep 5898 Purnima Hembram IND, Guwahati
20kmW 1:26:28 Qieyang Shenjie CHN, La Coruna



Copyright © 2009-2018, . All Rights Reserved . Policy . Term of Use
Sports Top Blogs Sports blogs & blog posts Free Web Stats

Back to TOP