Road Race in Malaysia: Foreign Runners, Sanction, Course Measurement

>> December 28, 2014

     The main aim of these brief notes is to convey some important information concerning road races in Malaysia, so you (runners and organisers) have another perspective or rough idea about your sport (in general) during these years in Malaysia. 

  • Cases of using other individual’s identity or specifically running in someone else bib involving foreign runners (mostly if not all from Kenya) are now increasing.
  • Recently, top ranked runners in Standard Chartered Kuala Lumpur Marathon (2014) had been disqualified due to this reason. But similar cases also occurred (but not limited to) during the Penang Bridge International Marathon, and the Kuching International Marathon.
  • Several causes to this are concerned with “age category”, “group category”, and “events that require runners to have a valid working permit”.
  • Not surprisingly that many (local) runners have expressed their upsets on the social media and as well in their websites.
  • Meanwhile, not forgetting about the facts that many road races that organised by various organisations did not supported and sanctioned by the governing body, therefore not mandated by IAAF/MAF rules.
  • In addition, the measurement of road race course is another growing big crisis lately. Around 80-90% of road races were not measured appropriately, especially the ‘10km’ and ‘half marathon’ routes. ‘Interestingly’ several are those that are authorised by state associations.
  • As you are not aware, "sanction" does not means "certified". Length of a course has nothing to do with sanction. But you need both. So don't confused.
  • Kindly note that route measurement by car or motorbike may results in ~3-7% shorter than full distance.
  • Due to this, many results may not be considered in official purposes including the records and ranking lists.
  • This information is for those concerned with this.

Post a Comment


100m 9.91 Su Bingtian CHN, Madrid
200m 20.16 Xie Zhenye CHN, Osaka
400m 44.07 Abdalelah Haroun QAT, London
800m 1:45.65 Jinson Johnson IND, Guwahati
1500m 3:34.55 Sadik Mikhou BRN, Paris
5000m 13:01.09 Birhanu Yemataw BRN, Lausanne
10000m 27:38.16 Hassan Chani BRN, Maia
Mar 2:06.11 Yuta Shitara JPN, Tokyo
3000 Sc 8:22.00 Kosei Yamaguchi JPN, Abashiri
110mh 13.36 Ahmad Al-Mouaed KSA, Praha
400mh 46.98 Abderrahman Samba QAT, Paris
HJ 2.40 Mutaz Barshim QAT, Doha
PV 5.71 Xue Changrui CHN, Shanghai
LJ 8.47A Wang Jianan CHN, Guiyang
TJ 17.22 Dong Bin CHN, Eugene OR
SP 20.24 Tejinder Singh IND, Patiala
DT 68.85 Ehsan Hadidi IRI, Chula Vista CA
HT 78.18 Dilshod Nazarov TJK, Chorzow
JT 87.43 Neeraj Chopra IND, Doha
Dec 7948 Keisuke Ushiro JPN, Gotzis
20kmW 1:17:26 Eiki Takahashi JPN, Kobe
50kmW 3:44:25 Hiroki Arai JPN, Taichang
4x100m 37.85 Japan Team JPN, Osaka
4x400m 3:04.05 India Team IND, Gold Coast
RED = World Leader




100m 10.99 Wei Yongli CHN, Resisprint
200m 22.73 Viktoriya Zyabkina KAZ, Almaty
400m 49.08 Salwa Eid Naser BRN, Monaco
800m 2:02.23 Manal Bahraoui BRN, Duffel
1500m 4:11.55 P.U Chitra IND, Guwahati
5000m 15:10.91 Rina Nabeshima JPN, Eugene OR
10000m 31:52.42 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Yamaguchi
Mar 2:22.44 Mizuki Matsuda JPN, Osaka
3000 Sc 9:10.74 Winfred Yavi BRN, Monaco
100mh 13.08 Wu Shuijiao CHN, Shanghai
400mh 55.54 Aminat Odeyemi BRN, Goleniow
HJ 1.91 Nadzehda Dusanova UZB, Tashkent
PV 4.60 Li Ling CHN, London
LJ 6.64A Xu Xiaoling CHN, Guiyang
TJ 14.25 Olga Rypakova KAZ, Paris
SP 20.38A Gong Lijiao CHN, Guiyang
DT 67.03 Chen Yang CHN, Osterode
HT 75.02 Luo Na CHN, Halle
JT 67.69 Lu Huihui CHN, Halle
Hep 5898 Purnima Hembram IND, Guwahati
20kmW 1:26:28 Qieyang Shenjie CHN, La Coruna



Copyright © 2009-2018, . All Rights Reserved . Policy . Term of Use
Sports Top Blogs Sports blogs & blog posts Free Web Stats

Back to TOP